Logo Background RSS

» Pop

  • Bears / Treehouse Split (2011)
    By on September 11th, 2011 | 111 Comments111 Comments Comments

    genre: screamo/indie-rock
    country: Australia

    Bears and Treehouse are both from Hobart, Tasmania. Bears (not to be confused with BEARS!) has been awesome on every release they’ve done so far. They’re probably known best for their 12″ split with Todos Caerán but they’ve got a rocking demo as well (and Simon put together the 21 songs comp released earlier this year).  They don’t let me down on this either. The beginning of Punk Rock is a chill melody to make love to which eventually builds up into a skramaganza that’d make Orchid pee themselves in delight. Scissorwings is a 6 and a half minute jam that pulls at your heart strings. In both vocals are fucking brutal. The musicianship that Bears brings to the table is always refreshing. They remind me of a slower Tristan Tzara. This split was the first time I had ever listened to Treehouse. They’ve got way more of an alternative-rock/lo-fi indie-rock/surf sound. Reminds me of a more punk version of Wavves or Chalk Talk or something. All in all it’s really catchy stuff. For both bands, the recordings are not extremely well produced but it’s actually a relief (seriously Touché Amoré rip off bands, calm down) and it provides a unique sound. This was released only on cd-r (I think) but it’s already sold out!

    Bears facebook
    Treehouse facebook

  • Winter Dust – Existence (2011)
    By on August 1st, 2011 | 114 Comments114 Comments Comments

    genre: Post-Rock/Piano Rock
    country: Italy

    Winter Dust is a band from Padova, Italy. This was sent to me ages ago but I just got around to listening to it. It’s a lot different from what I normally post but it was so interesting that I decided to post it. It’s a mix of post-rock, pop, and ambient rock. There are some screamy parts though! Very piano driven. Fans of Moving Mountains and bands like that would probably love this.





  • The Speed of Sound in Seawater
    By on May 9th, 2011 | 111 Comments111 Comments Comments

    genre: Math-Pop/Indie-Pop/Twinkle
    country: USA
    notes: I wanted to post something a bit different. The Speed of Sound in Seawater is a math-pop band from California. They just released a new album entitled Underwater Tell Each Other Secrets. The music is insanely beautiful and there’s a lot going on. Smooth vocals, noodely guitar, and jazzy bass/drums. The sound is pretty consistent throughout all the EPs but unlike some other bands that’s a good fucking thing. They also have two other EPs entitled Red Version and Blue Version that are included in this download. Fans of Algernon Cadwallader, American Football, Toe, and Malegoat. Do it now. Support them if you can though. They’re DIY as fuck. ps. Happy Mothers Day!




    bandcamp (donate $ here!)

  • The Accidental – There Were Wolves (2007)
    By on September 24th, 2008 | 95 Comments95 Comments Comments


    bitrate: 320 kBit/s
    genre: Indie / Folk
    country: UK
    notes: Great Stuff! (300. upp omgomgomgomgomg)

  • Oh No! Oh My! (2006)
    By on August 8th, 2008 | No Comments Comments

    1 Skip The Foreplay
    2 Walk In The Park
    3 I Have No Sister
    4 Reeks and Seeks
    5 Lisa, Make Love! (It’s Okay!)
    6 On The Town
    7 I Love You All The Time
    8 Jane is Fat
    9 Farewell To All My Friends
    10 The Backseat
    11 Women Are Born In Love


    bitrate: 128 kBit/s
    genre: Indie
    country: USA
    notes: Great band. :]

  • Quietdrive – Rise From The Ashes (2006)
    By on June 9th, 2008 | 120 Comments120 Comments Comments

    01. Rise From The Ashes
    02. Get Up
    03. Take A Drink
    04. Let Me Go In
    05. Rush Together
    06. Maybe Misery
    07. I Lie Awake
    08. The Season
    09. Time After Time
    10. Both Ways


    bitrate: 192 kBit/s
    genre: Pop Punk
    country: USA
    notes: N/A

  • The Hush Sound – Like Vines (2006)
    By on June 2nd, 2008 | 110 Comments110 Comments Comments

    1. “We Intertwined” – 3:16
    2. “A Dark Congregation” – 3:12
    3. “Sweet Tangerine” – 3:03
    4. “Lions Roar” – 2:52
    5. “Lighthouse” – 2:59
    6. “Don’t Wake Me Up” – 3:41
    7. “Where We Went Wrong” – 3:31
    8. “Magnolia” – 3:49
    9. “Wine Red” – 2:34
    10. “Out Through the Curtain” – 3:27
    11. “You Are The Moon” – 3:27


    bitrate: 178 kBit/s
    genre: Indie
    country: usa
    notes: N/A

  • The Avett Brothers – Emotionalism
    By on May 31st, 2008 | 105 Comments105 Comments Comments

    01. Die Die Die
    02. Shame
    03. Paranoia In Bb Major
    04. The Weight Of Lies
    05. Will You Return?
    06. The Ballad Of Love And Hate
    07. Salina
    08. Pretty Girl From Chile
    09. All My Mistakes
    10. Living Of Love
    11. I Would Be Sad
    12. Pretty Girl From San Diego
    13. Go To Sleep
    14. Hand-Me-Down Time


    bitrate: 219 (vbr) kBit/s
    genre: folk/indie/pop
    country: usa